Home > General > Just how dependent have we become…

Just how dependent have we become…

So just how dependent have we become on the Internet and being always connected?

It’s Wednesday night, I’m outside standing by my bar, fire crackling in the background, busy going thru some tweets and Facebook posts. A bit of a breeze blowing but is a nice and refreshing one. Suddenly a flash catches my eye and a few seconds later I hear that all to familiar sound of the start of a thunderstorm. I quickly pull out my Windows Phone 7, start up the “Today” app and check the weather… I should have known, thunderstorms predicted.

So what do I do. I quickly inform the family to get of the laptops, unplug the xboxes, disconnect all devices from the network, switch of my router and make sure all the cables have been unplugged. Suddenly I get this sinking feeling that I will be internetlessness for the evening.

For a few seconds I was struck with hatred towards the weather, because after all it is Gears of War 3 community night and I am expected to be there, plus its a great way to socialize with some friend. Then I suddenly realize that all is not lost as my Galaxy Tab and iPad both have 3G contract so all is not lost… Then it struck me, we are so dependent on connectivity and it is so ingrained into our lives that it is actually frightening.

Getting cold sweats because of a lost of connectivity for a few hours… What have I (we) become. Is the Hunt for information or socializing online so insatiable that we cannot live without it? Does twitter, Facebook, YouTube etc truly rule our lives. What would our parent say to us liking each others Facebook statuses or retweeting each other across the room?

Where are the days of snail mail or picking up the phone to have a chat to someone?

Even though I am guilty of this fear of internetlessness, I do still truly miss the days when other Internet was not around… Sometimes… 😉

Maybe a good reminder should be to completely disconnect yourself at least once a week, just to feel human again. Or not, the choice is your… Just some rumblings of a geek starting to get the shakes because of possible internetlessness. 🙂

Categories: General Tags:
  1. June 6, 2012 at 19:13

    Glad you had internet to post this. After a day of complete internet madness(coupled with some other surprises), I had a similar a epiphany today. Nice post!

    • June 6, 2012 at 19:34

      Thanks. I think it really is one of those things that we tend to forget. And the dependency can be like a drug. Sad, but true… Somehow that reminds me of a Metallica song… 🙂

  2. June 6, 2012 at 22:36

    Nice post. It’s sometimes frightening how dependent we are on the internet to get everything done. However, what really scares me is the proliferation of mobile internet. If you at least have to sit down at a computer to access things, at least it forces you to make it a fairly exclusive activity. If you carry it with you, it’s always there and people seem to have no self control over using it. I’ve been at lunch with people too often where everyone is fiddling with their phones rather than talking to each other, and I have a friend who can’t even watch 15 minutes of a DVD or a sporting event without having to start checking Facebook and his messages.

    • June 6, 2012 at 22:43

      So true. I personally glam RIM for that… 🙂

  3. June 7, 2012 at 04:10

    The internet is just another form of connection. Previously it was pidgeons, snail mail, post cards, CB radios (!!!). We all have some form of connection to the outside world. It’s what binds us all together. So what if we chat on FB – we used to have penpals all over the world that we never saw. How often would you find yourself watching for the postman to deliver those letters – it’s like hitting refresh every few minutes.

    I like being connected. If I could plug myself directly into the Matrix I would.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

